Adam Gaudette Wins the Walter Brown Award

Junior forward Adam Gaudette added another accolade to his growing collection on Monday, being named the winner of the 2018 Walter Brown Award. The award is given to the best American-born forward playing in New England, and is awarded by the Gridiron Club of Greater Boston.

The Walter Brown Award was originally awarded in 1953, and is the oldest individual player award given out each season. By comparison, the Hobey Baker Award, which Gaudette is also a Top Ten Finalist for, was initially awarded in 1981. Gaudette is the 66th winner of the Walter Brown Award, and is Northeastern’s fourth recipient, and first since Jim Fahey won it in 2002.

Northeastern’s Ray Picard won the inaugural Walter Brown Award. Last year, Northeastern forward Zach Aston-Reese was a finalist, before losing out to UMass-Lowell’s Joe Gambardella. Past winners of the award also include Jerry York (Boston College, 1967), Ralph Cox (UNH, 1979), Mark Fusco (Harvard, 1983), Chris Drury (Boston University, 1998), Mike Motteau (Boston College, 2000), and Johnny Gaudreau (Boston College, 2014). In total, nine players won the Walter Brown Award the same year they won the Hobey Baker Award.

This award comes on the heels of Gaudette being named Hockey East Player of the Year, as well as being a unanimous selection for the Hockey East First All Star Team. He currently leads the nation in points (60), points-per-game (1.62), and goals (30). He is tied for tenth in assists (30), third in shorthanded goals (3), ninth in shots on goal (152), and third in powerplay goals (11).

Congratulations to Adam! And we expect to have another article similar to this come Frozen Four weekend, as we consider him to be the front-runner for the Hobey Baker Award. Adam and the rest of the Huskies will play Michigan at 4:30 on Saturday.

As always, Go Huskies!