New Huskies Players Get Their Numbers

As our offseason continues to roll and we look for any morsel of hockey content, fans who visit can see that our newest Huskies players, including the eight freshmen and two transfers into the program, have been assigned their new numbers. A quick look at who will be wearing what, and whose footsteps they are following with each number.

#7 Michael Outzen– Previously numbr 9 for the New Jersey Hitmen of the North American Hockey League, Outzen will look to emulate the previous #7 for the Huskies, John Picking. Picking cultivated a successful role on the Huskies as a stout defender and faceoff machine as a center in the bottom six, and Outzen’s heralded 200-foot game would slide right into the role and the jersey number that Huskies fans have associated with it. Other previous #7 wearers include Mike McMurtry and Anthony Bitetto.

#9 John DeRoche– One of two transfers joining the program this year, DeRoche succeeds Tyler Madden as the latest player to don #9 at Northeastern. He wore #19 at Vermont (currently worn by Riley Hughes). The number 9 has a glorious recent history at Northeastern, being worn by Madden, Dylan Sikura, and before him Garrett Vermeersch.

#10 Dylan Jackson– previously number 21 while in Dubuque, Dylan takes the number last worn by Brandon Hawkins in 2018-19. Hawkins was a clutch goal-scorer in his time with Northeastern with a cannon for a shot, and Dylan is known as the goal scorer of the twins, so filling in that role and number is very fitting. Other recent wearers of #10 include Sam Kurker and Steve Quailer.

#11 Gunnarwolfe Fontaine– The Wolf Man previously wore #13 in Chicago, which is currently worn by sophomore forward TJ Walsh, and before him was worn by former assistant captain Biagio Lerario for a season before he changed to 26. Number 11 has been recently worn by Drew Blackmun, Jake Schechter, and Justin Daniels.

#14 Ty Jackson– Ty was #20 in Dubuque right alongside his brother. The last #14 for the Huskies was defenseman Garret Cockerill. Prior to him, fan favorite Braden Pimm donned the 1-4.

#16 Sam Colangelo– Colangelo retained his number from juniors, wearing #16 for the Chicago Steel. Previous Huskies with that number include Matt Thomson, Brendan Collier, Ryan Belonger, and Kyle Kraemer.

#17 Marco Bozzo– The second transfer in this class comes from UMass-Amherst. Bozzo wore number 15 at UMass, currently worn by assistant captain Grant Jozefek, and before him Kevin Roy and Brodie Reid. Previous wearers of Bozzo’s new #17 include Matt Filipe, Torin Snydeman, and Steve Silva.

#24 Steven Agrogianis– Agrogianis was #61 while playing in the British Columbia Hockey League, a number so high that Huskies fans have not seen it on a jersey since Jarrett Fennell wore it for the 2016 Hockey East Championship squad. There was a part of me that had hoped we’d see the return of the large numbered uniforms, but neither Steven nor I were that lucky. Previous #24s include AJ Villella, Mike Jamieson, and Drew Daniels.

#26 James Davenport– Davenport wore #14 in his last season in the BCHL, but with that number claimed by Ty Jackson, he took the jersey number vacated by Lerario’s graduation. Other players to wear 26 include Ryan Rosenthal and Will Messa.

#33 Devon Levi– Levi wore the traditional number 1 in his only year in the Central Canadian Hockey League, but switches to number 33, a change that will make Friend of the Blog Zach Gordon (@ZGordo33 on Twitter) extremely happy. The last Huskies player to wear 33 was Jack Celata, who played one season with Northeastern in 2002-03, playing 11 games without registering a point. Needless to say, Levi has a chance to make the legend of #33 all his own during his four years at Northeastern.